17347389

 

Book Title: The Dream Thieves

Series: The Raven Cycle (#2)

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Date Released: September 17, 2013

Pages: 439

Target Age: YA

Target Genre: YA Paranormal

Diversity: Possible; LGBTQIA

POV: Third person, omniscient

Setting: Henrietta, Virginia, USA

RANKED: 4/5 STARS

 

What is this book supposed to be about?

“Now that the Ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…”

 

What is my final review?

Characters?  We received a new antagonist and protagonist for book 2. The author did an excellent job with blurring the lines again. The author kept the original characters intact. I don’t remember the third brother’s name being Matthew. I swear the character had a different name. Anyway 5/5 for this category once again.

Plot(s)?  The story remained focused around Ronan, and his family. Blue Sargent took the backseat to this story. She had a few chapters dedicated to her. A possible romantic interest with Adam or Gansey? But it doesn’t exactly qualify for a paranormal romance because it really hasn’t been established. A possible romance between Ronan and Gansey? I would need to continue the series to see. This book deals with Ronan’s dreams and how dreams can come back to haunt them. I hate ending on a cliff-hanger but this one ends on one. I gave the author 4/5 for this one. There are too many unanswered questions. The author didn’t explain what happens with Ronan’s mother.

Grammar? We have some inconsistent words with air conditioner. One minute it’s hyphenated and the next it’s joined together as one word. There was a wonky sentence in the beginning of chapter 18. I gave the author 3/5 stars for this section.

Formatting? No issues. 5/5 for this section.

Book Cover? This is a great cover! It matches the story inside the book. 5/5 for this section as well.

5+4+3+5+5= 22 or 4.4 for a total of 4/5 stars

 

My personal thoughts? Even though I had a few gripes, I liked this. I felt it wasn’t as strong as the last book. Overall, I’m intrigued with the possible pathways each character will take in the future. I shall continue with the series.

 

 

 

 

