17378508

 

Book Title: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Series Title: The Raven Cycle (#3)

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 391

Date Released: October 21, 2014

Target Age: YA

Genre: YA Paranormal

POV: Third, omniscient

Setting: Henrietta Virginia, USA

Diversity: Possible? Economic and possible LGTBQIA

RANKED: 5/5 STARS

 

What is this story supposed to be about?

“Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. 

The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.”

 

What is my final review?

Characters? We gain a few new protagonists, and a few antagonists. These antagonists are dumber than a box of rocks, but they made the book extremely enjoyable. We do lose a couple protagonists that I was sad to see go. I cried over the death of one of those characters towards the end. You have to read the book to find out. The author did a fantastic job adding humor to the characters. I laughed, inappropriately laughed until it was time to get serious. 5/5 for this section on character development. 

Plot(s)? At the end of the second book, a character goes missing. That was the purpose of this novel. To find that missing character, to search for the buried King (ongoing), and to save a few other characters (ongoing). I’m trying to make this as spoiler-free as possible. You have to read the book to find out which ones are missing. There were little hints the author put in the book. I want to see if I’m right. 5/5 for plot(s).

Grammar? Way better in this book. No real complaints. I didn’t struggle over the lines at any point in this book. I give it a 5/5 for this section.

Format? No format issues. 5/5 for this section as well. 

Book Cover? The book cover has everything to do with the story itself. 5/5 for this section.

5+5+5+5+5=25 or 5.0, meaning 5/5 stars. 

 

What are my personal thoughts? I LOVED this book! The author did an excellent job with the plots, the story, the characters, and the subtle humor. I laughed throughout the book, but the author dropped the bomb on me toward the end of the book. Just when you really like a character, tragedy strikes. That death was needed. Not really over the top with the romance. All the books, I wouldn’t put them in the romance category at all. It’s more of a friendship between three guys, and a girl. This is my favorite book in the series thus far. Yes, I will continue to read the series. Great job, Stiefvater. I will read more books from this author in the future.

–As always, I’m just another asshole with an opinion

 

 

 

 

