17378527

 

Book Title: The Raven King

Series Title: The Raven Cycle (#4)

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Diversity: YES! LGTBQIA relationship & economic.

Date Released: April 26, 2016

Target Age: YA

Target Genre: YA Paranormal

Pages: 439

Setting: Henrietta Virginia, USA

POV: Third person, omniscient

RANKED: 4/5 STARS

 

What is this story supposed to be about? 

“All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.” 

 

What is my final review?

Characters?

We gained a new protagonist for this one. I must giggle at “Henry-sexual.” That is probably one of my favorites. We realize that Blue’s father doesn’t have a spine. I have favorites. The author did a great job with creating diverse and dynamic characters. And the new relationships finally come full circle in this book. All those pesky questions about characters were answered. I won’t give it away, you have to read the book to find out. 5/5 for this section.

Plot(s)? Let me be honest it was a bit over the top. It has a very nature-ish theme behind it. BUT! The author resolved some of the plots. I would have liked to see what happened to Blue’s family. I would have liked to see if Matthew survived. There were unanswered, looming questions. It doesn’t feel 100% complete, and I’m a little disappointed. I gave 3/5 for this section.

Grammar? I was okay. But the -t (UK-English) endings for past tense when it’s supposed to be -ed endings in American-English, irritated me. Another thing that irritated me was the switch from third person to second person. I don’t want to be talked to at this time. It kicked me out several times in the story. 3/5 for this section. 

Book Cover?  The book cover matched the story.  A beautiful cover. Kudos to the artist. 5/5 for this section.

Formatting? No format issues. I received a complete book and no strange lines falling off the page. 5/5 for this section. 

 

5+3+3+5+5=21 or 4.2 for a total of 4/5 stars. 

 

What are my personal thoughts? 

This wasn’t my favorite in the series. I expected fireworks and explosions. Not really, but I expected to be dazzled. It was a letdown for me. It didn’t grab my attention like the previous novel in the series did. It was often boring and long-winded. “Can we skip that part?” I wanted to, but I made it my mission to read every line in a book this year. The plot could have been better. It wasn’t my favorite plot from this series. The nature-ish plot was a bit too much for my tastes. BUT! I will continue to read future and prior novels from this author.

–As always, I’m just another asshole with an opinion

 

 

 

