19542841

 

Book Title: More Happy Than Not

Series: N/A

Author: Adam Silvera

Publisher: Soho Teen

Date Released: June 2, 2015

Pages: 304

Target Age: YA

Target Genre: YA Contemporary

POV: First person, present tense

Diversity: Yes; LGTBTQIA, Race, Mental Health, & Economic

Setting: Queens, New York, USA

RANKED: 5/5 STARS

 

What is this book supposed to be about?

“In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely. 

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.”

 

What is my final review?

Characters? This book follows the point of view of Aaron Soto, a fifteen-year-old Puerto Rican teenager. If you are looking for a book with diversity, this is your book. As for Aaron, the author did a great job evolving the character over a year of his life. The character I disliked the most would be Aaron’s dad. You have to read the book to find out why. The author did a great job evolving all of the characters. They went from nauseating teens to understandable teens if that makes any sense. For this section, I awarded a 5/5. 

Plot(s)? Basically this book follows the point of view of Aaron Soto, a fifteen-year-old Puerto Rican teenager dealing with the suicide of his father, his sexuality, and wanting to forget. The author did a fantastic job with mixing diversity into this book. The author managed to complete all the plots and left me fully satisfied with the way things turned out. I awarded another 5/5 for this section.

Grammar? To me, there were no confusing lines. This author is a fantastic writer. This author kept me fully engaged. For the age of the character, the grammar was correct. I awarded 5/5 for this section.

Formatting? I have a complaint. I didn’t enjoy how the chapters were laid out. I kept repeating chapter 1 at least three times in the book. It became a bit confusing for me at times. I do love the emoji. I awarded 3/5 for this section. 

Book Cover? It’s just a standard book cover. It isn’t anything spectacular. If we take it from a painter’s point of view then it meshes well with the writing. I’m giving a 5/5 for the book cover.

5+5+5+3+5=23/25 or 4.6 for a 5/5 stars. 

What are my personal thoughts? I’m a mother. Some of the scenes broke my heart. I won’t lie. My motherly instincts came out in this book. This is what people in the LGTBQIA community face daily. Some are lucky, but some aren’t so lucky. Lucky by having an accepting community and family. So many teens are scared to come out of their closets. We shouldn’t live in a world where a teen is scared. It makes me upset that there are bigoted parents who refuse to accept their child(ren) for who they are. You can’t pray or beat it out of them. They are who they are. It is my hope that one day we become a better society as a whole. I cried. This book made me cry. Good job, Mr. Adam Silvera. I will keep the tears flowing as I read his latest book, “History Is All You Left Me,” next. It is my hope that we spread more love, compassion, understanding, and tolerance one day. Wouldn’t that be a better world?

 

 

 

