18692431

Book Title: Everything, Everything

Series Title: NA

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Delacorte Books For Young Readers

Date Published: September 1, 2015

Pages: 307

Diverse: YES! Race, mental health, and rare disease

POV: First, present

Target Age: YA

Target Genre: YA Contemporary-Romance

Setting: Los Angeles, California, USA

RANKED: 5/5 STARS

 

What is this book supposed to be about?

“My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.”

 

What is my review?

Characters? We have five characters. Olly, Carla, Maddy, Pauline (Maddy’s mom), and Zachariah. And the author did a fantastic job building these characters. I really can’t stand Maddy’s mom. She ticked me off. I understand the mom’s heartbreak, but you live for the remaining family members. I gave a 5/5 for this section.

Plot(s)? We have Olly and Maddy’s romance, Maddy vs Pauline, Maddy vs outdoors, and Maddy’s “rare disease” that she’s “living” with. The author satisfied all the plots. You have to read this book to find out for yourselves. I gave a 5/5 for this section.

Grammar? The beginning was a bit clunky. But overall, no struggles. 4/5 for this section.

Formatting? Much like “The Sun Is Also A Star,” this book has beautiful illustrations and designs it. You can tell it’s a Nicola Yoon book when you read it. 5/5 for this section.

Book Cover? It’s a beautiful book cover. 5/5 for this section. 

5+5+4+5+5=24/4.8; for a 5/5 STARS

 

My personal thoughts?

Can we back the car over Pauline a few times? I know that idea is illegal. The author does a great job creating a world with pictures and illustrations. Her style of writing is unique and different. I’m glad I finally read her debut novel. I look forward to reading more books from this author in the future.

–As always, I’m just another asshole with an opinon

