25014114

 

Book Title: History Is All You Left Me

Series Title: N/A

Author: Adam Silvera

Publisher: Soho Teen

Date Released: January 17, 2017

Pages: 320

Target Age: YA

Target Genre: YA Contemporary

Diversity: Yes; Mental Health, Interracial Relationships, & LGTBQIA

POV: Second & First, present tense

Setting: Manhattan NY, USA

RANKED: 4/5 STARS

 

What is this story supposed to be about?

“When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe imploded. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.”

 

What is my review?

Characters? I found Griffin to be a bit reckless with his decisions. But he did change over time and took responsibility for his actions. The author did evolve the characters. The surprise was Wade. I would have liked to see more “clues” about his identity earlier on in the book. The therapist was a useless character. The therapist didn’t add anything beneficial to the story. For this section, I gave the author 3/5. It was just meh…

Plot(s)? The author did resolve the plots with regards to Theo’s death. BUT! Why did Theo go into the ocean? Was it really an accident or was it because of suicide? That still hangs in the air for me. You have to read the book to figure that part out for yourselves. I gave a 5/5 for this section.

Grammar: There were too many redundant words and wonky sentences that I had to re-read a few times to make sense of them. I gave a 3/5 for this section.

Formatting: Here we go again! But this time it’s with the wrong dates. It needs a revised edition. For example on page 278, the author wrote Sunday, December 31st when it should be Saturday, December 31st, 2016. On page 285 once again, it should be Friday, not Saturday. On page 291, it should be Saturday, not Sunday. The wrong days with the dates did irritate me. 2/5 for this section. 

Book Cover? Yes, the book cover coincides with the body of work on the inside of the book. It is a beautiful book cover. I gave a 5/5 for this section. 

3+5+3+2+5=18/25 or 3.6 for a 4/5 stars.

 

What are my personal thoughts?

This book started out strong but it didn’t stay strong towards half the book. I can’t ignore the wrong days with the dates. It’s like scratching nails down a chalkboard for me. It has to have the correct day with the dates. As for OCD, the author nailed it. I, too, battle OCD. This is one of my many “inner” demons. This book is depressing. I would like to see something more upbeat. It dragged throughout the entire story. It was a little too much for me at times. I wish the author brought out Wade more or showed signs of Wade from the beginning of the story. I actually love the debut novel more than this one. I’m sorry but this one wasn’t my favorites from the author. I try to stay as fair as I can with each book I review.

–As always, I’m just another asshole with an opinion

 

 

